Sustainable Event Management
Written by a leading events professional, with experience at Glastonbury, Reading and Leeds festivals, this book outlines step-by-step methods for sustainable events management of any kind and scale.
Events Management 3rd Edition by
This is an introductory, first-year textbook for students of events management and hospitality management.
Planning Research in Hospitality and Tourism by
Planning Research in Hospitality and Tourism provides a concise and clear approach to planning research projects which are a necessity in most hospitality and tourism courses taught at degree level. The text considers the particular characteristics of the hospitality and tourism industry, whilst providing a balanced approach toward both quantitative and qualitative methods of research. The text also carefully considers the international aspect of the industry and the people it employees, which supports the books aims of: * Providing an excellent understanding of the basic principles of conducting research, in a straight forward no nonsense guide* Carefully considering the particular characteristics of the hospitality and tourism sectors in relation to embarking on a research project in the area* Including in each chapter an International Dimension section, as well as case studies, questions and reflections on the research process"
Event Management by
Event Management is packed full of ¿true to life¿ examples of events across the nation—illustrating all the skills needed to become a successful event manager. From this book readers will learn how to design, plan, market, and stage an event. In addition, readers will learn how to manage staff and staffing problems and to ensure the safety of everyone involved. Topics will also discuss what is needed for legal compliance, risk management, financial control and successful event evaluation. Topics include: Size and types of events; Event teams; Concept and design; Feasibility; Legal compliance; Event marketing; Sponsorship; Promotion; Financial management; Risk management; Planning; Protocol; Choosing the event site; Developing the theme; Conducting rehearsals; Managing the environment; Staffing; Leadership; Operations and logistics; Safety and security; Crowd management and evacuation; Monitoring, control and evaluation; and Careers in a changing environment. For anyone entering the rapidly growing field of event management or a reference for professionals such as Event Manager, Meeting Planner, Corporate Meeting Planner, Conference Organizer, Venue Manager, Tourism Event Coordinator, Sports Competition Manager, Sponsorship Manager, Event Designer, Convention Planner, Association Manager, Professional Fundraisers, and Executive Directors for Non-Profit Organizations.
Successful Event Management by
Suitable for those who need to know how to organize a special event - a festival, a celebration party, a media launch or an annual fete, this title contains information about planning, budgeting, marketing and organization and a wide range of informative case studies from around Europe.
Festival and Special Event Management by
Festival and Special Event Management, 5th edition continues the comprehensive overview of the theory and procedures associated with festivals and special events established in previous editions. The new edition of this market-leading text introduces developments and professional tools, and considers the globalisation and subsequent internationalisation of event management. The role of marketing and communication, environmental planning, the increasing role of governments through the creation of event strategies, and the different perspectives of event management are all discussed. This edition aims to embrace and extend the growing body of knowledge relating to event management by tracking many of the recent changes and developments in the field. This offers students a current, relevant textbook for their study and professional reference.
Robert French Dictionary by
The HarperCollins Robert is simply the best French dictionary you can buy. Here's why: Over 850,000 entries and translations, completely revised and updated. The HarperCollins Robert goes with you into the 21st Century. With complete coverage of contemporary terms in business, technology, politics, culture, and medicine, the HarperCollins Robert is the most authoritative single-volume French-English dictionary available. More up-to-date. Unlike its competitors, the HarperCollins Robert is updated every two years. Prepared in conjunction with the leading dictionary publisher in France, this dictionary is highly praised for its accuracy, especially in the notoriously slippery arena of French slang. More colloquial usage than any other French Dictionary. With its emphasis on current French and English, extensive cross referencing, and an in-depth guide to usage of idioms and phrases, the HarperCollins Robert has triple the breadth of its competitors. More effective guidance. The HarperCollins Robert contains a 76-page "Language in Use" section, designed to facilitate self-expression in the foreign language, and a comprehensive system of style labels identify whether a word is formal, informal, literary, vulgar, dated, or euphemistic. Here's a sampling of the new terms this edition includes: alcopop frequent Flyer assisted suicide internet cafe cashback living will channel-surf surround sound Ebola virus website E-coli windfall tax feng shui
Oxford Essential German Dictionary by 
The Usborne first thousand words in German by 
Spanish Dictionary and Grammar by
Offering extensive coverage of the English and Spanish language, this reference includes thousands of phrases and examples guiding the user to the most appropriate translation.
Festival and Events Management: An International Arts and Culture Perspective by
Festival and Events Management: an international perspective is a unique text looking at the central role of events management in the cultural, tourism and arts industries. With international contributions from industry and academia, the text looks at the following: * Events & cultural environments * Managing the arts & leisure experience * Marketing, policies and strategies of art and leisure management Chapters include exercises, and additional teaching materials and solutions to questions are provided as part of an accompanying online resource.
Creating a Website: the Missing Manual by
Think you need an army of skilled programmers to build a website? Think again. With nothing more than an ordinary PC, some raw ambition, and this book, you’ll learn how to create and maintain a professional-looking, visitor-friendly site. This Missing Manual gives you all the tools, techniques, and expert advice you need. Plan your site. Create web pages by learning the basics of HTML and HTML5. Control page design with CSS. Format text, images, links, tables, and other elements. Attract visitors. Ensure that people can find your site through popular search engines. Build a community. Add forums, fresh content, and a feedback form to encourage repeat visits. Get smart. Use free tools to identify your site’s strengths and weaknesses. Create your own blog. Post your musings with a free blog-hosting service. Bring in cash. Host Google ads, sell Amazon’s wares, or push your own products. Add pizzazz. Include audio, video, interactive menus, and more.
Electronic books can be read online via your PC, laptop or mobile device.
Advantages:
We have a large number of e-books available to you which you can find either by searching the catalogue or by logging in directly to one of our e-book collections.
Textbooks are useful introduction to a topic, they will give you an overview of the subject..
Reading Lists are a good starting point, you will find reading lists for each module on Moodle.
Edited books bring together expert knowledge from a range of different people. These books have detailed information on a subject and can add depth to your research into a topic.
Encyclopedias are a type of reference work – a compendium holding a summary of information from either all branches of knowledge or a particular branch of knowledge. Encyclopedias are divided into articles or entries, which are usually accessed alphabetically by article name.Encyclopedia entries are longer and more detailed than those in most dictionaries.
- Wikipedia is a collaboratively edited, multilingual, free Internet encyclopedia edited by volunteers so be careful in using it for scholarly assignments as almost all of its articles can be edited by anyone having access to the site.
In addition to the academic ebooks available to you via DkIT Library there are also lots of free E-books on the web. Some of the most popular sites are:
