Skip to main content

Keeping up to date: Welcome

How to keep up to date with what's new

Keeping informed

Keeping up-to-date is essential for staff and research students. There are a wide range of current awareness services available which can make this task easier in addition to the more well known Twitter and other social media tools.  These services can deliver current information from publishers, databases, websites, journals and citation trackers to your desktop via a range of options and apps.

Table of Contents Alert

Table of Contents Alert

  • Zetoc gives access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of 20,000+ current journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year.  Includes an email alerting service.
  • JournalTOCs database of Table of Contents (TOCs) from scholarly journals, good  "one stop shop"
Sign up for TOC Alerts sent directly from publishers of journals or article databases to which DkIT Library subscribes.  This usually requires and individual profile at a publishers website.

Dissertation Abstracts

Check to see if any graduate dissertations on your research topic have been submitted to UK and Irish universities. The Proquest Dissertations and Theses database is the most comprehensive available record of doctoral theses from the United Kingdom and Ireland. The collection offers the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.

Subject Alerts

Subject alerts allow you to be notified when articles are published that match your subject criteria. Most databases allow you to save searches and set up saved search alerts that send you any new items that matches your search. This is one of the advantages of using the database directly rather than always using MultiSearch.. Click here for a full list of Dkit's databases

Web page Alerts

There are a number of services that provide alerting services for new publications on the Web, including:

  • Google Alerts tracking service for search-engine results that watches for online new content by monitoring Web pages indexed by Google and e-mails users when it locates new items
  • The Scout Report - weekly reports offering a selection of new and newly discovered Web resources of interest to researchers and educators
  • Conferences - Locating papers delivered at conferences can sometimes be difficult, but they are often the only record of vital new research results. Some conference listings include:

Social Media

Other ways to stay current is to follow people in your research field via their blogs, Twitter or by joining or creating groups on academic social networking sites such as Mendeley, ResearchGate, Academia.edu and the Social Science Research Network.

To find other blogs of interest try http://researchblogging.com/. In addition to blogs from individuals, there are also blogs from respected journals and academic institutions such as:

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) has produced lists of academic tweeters by discipline and has also produced a guide to using Twitter for academics.