Contains the Irish Times from 1859 onwards. Editions are added seven days after publication date. Limited to 10 simultaneous users. Walk-in access available. Not currently searchable using MultiSearch.
A database is simply an online collection of information.
It generally contains journal articles, but most databases also hold book chapters, book reviews, reports, and conference papers.
Sometimes only the abstract, or summary, of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.
A library database is simply an online collection of information, such as:
Sometimes only the abstract of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.
DkIT Library subscribes to various databases. Some cover a range of subjects, others are more specific and cover just one main subject area.
Our databases are easy to search. Most of them can be searched at the one time using MultiSearch. Or you can browse our full list of databases and choose to search them individually.
Usually, you'll need to login to a database using your name and student number.
Why should I use an individual database instead of doing all my searches in MultiSearch?
MultiSearch is great for finding out the range of sources we have available on any given topic but once you start to research a topic in more depth you will want more flexibility to save your results and keep up to date with new publications.
Most databases allow you to save searches and set up saved search alerts that send you any new items that matches your search. This is one of the advantages of using the database directly rather than always using MultiSearch.
Procedures for subscribing to email or RSS alerts vary for different databases. Example for Ebsco and Science Direct databases below:
