Skip to main content

Computing: Journal articles & databases

Information and support on library resources for the computing subject area.

What's a journal article?

A journal is similar to a magazine. Issues are available at regular intervals, such as every month. Often, journals are 'peer-reviewed' or 'scholarly'.

  • This means each article goes through an evaluation process to test it's accuracy, credibilty, relevance, and so on.
  • Peer-reviewed/scholarly articles are usually of a high academic standard.

Journals contain pieces of writing or research called journal articles.

This website summarises the difference between scholarly journals and popular magazines.


Video courtesy of NEIU Ronald Williams Library

What's a library database?

A library database is simply an online collection of information, such as:

  • journal articles
  • books chapters
  • book reviews
  • reports
  • conference papers

Sometimes only the abstract of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.


Video courtesy of RMIT University

How do I find journal articles?

The easiest way to find a journal article is by searching MultiSearch. Log in with your full name and student number to access it.

  • This searches most of the Library's resources, including databases, at the same time
  • You may need to login using your name and student number to read an article

Another option is to search an individual database. The ones most relevant to your subject area are linked below, or you can click here to see all of our databases.

What's a conference paper?

Conferences are a major source of new research in computing.

  • At conferences, researchers present papers on the research they are doing and answer questions from the audience.
  • The papers presented in the conference are usually published in a collection called conference proceedings.
  • It may be months before this research is published as a journal article, if at all.

Can't find the full text of a journal article?

Need access to the full text of a journal article but can't find it in MultiSearch? Make an interlibrary loan request and we'll try to get it from another library for you.

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.