LibGuides: Walk-In Users: Welcome

Other routes to information: Install Browser Plug-Ins

Install browser plug-ins to help you find full text. Click on the plug-in button when browsing articles to see if full text is available.

Open Access Button
Free, legal research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors.
Unpaywall
Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories
Google Scholar Button
Lookup scholarly articles as you browse the web. For Chrome.

ResearchGate
A social network for researchers to share papers. Create an account to access full text of documents where available or contact authors directly for full text.

STÓR
STÓR is Dundalk Institute of Technology’s Open Access (OA) Institutional Repository.

Please note that EBSCO do not authorize DkIT alumni to access their databases as walk-in users.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary collection from EBSCO.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Bibliographic data on historical writing concerned with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. Limited to three simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
EBSCO business collection.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Nursing and allied health. EBSCO.
EBSCOhost Web
Search across all EBSCO collections
GreenFILE
Human impact to the environment. EBSCO.
JSTOR
Ireland Collection, Music, Life Sciences, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Arts & Sciences II.
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection
MEDLINE, the Health and Medical Collection and material on family health and psychology.
Regional Business News
Business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. EBSCO.
Science Direct
Physical, life, health and social sciences, engineering and humanities subjects.
Scopus
World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

arXiv
Open access to 1,499,258 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
BioRxiv
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
CORE
The world’s largest collection of open access research papers
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
DOAJ
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
PubMed
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.
SocArXiv
An open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers

Copyright law and license agreements determine what can be copied, downloaded or stored. In general the following is okay:

Personal access for academic purposes such as study, teaching or research
copying a portion of an item that is reasonable/fair (5 - 10% depending on the nature of the publication)

In general the following is not possible:

downloading large parts of a database or the entire contents of a publication (for instance an entire journal issue)
systematic downloading of material
multiple copying of items that have been printed out or downloaded
distributing copies
removing any proprietary marking or copyright statement from a copy
using electronic resources for commercial purposes
sharing material via social media

DkIT’s contractual arrangements with suppliers oblige us all to follow and promote the licensing guidelines.

As licensing arrangements vary across services it is difficult to come up with a hard and fast rule, but you can also get general information here.

If you are in doubt about appropriate use please get in contact with us.