As a member of DkIT you automatically become a member of Louth County Libraries and can use any of their 5 branch Libraries to borrow items.
The County Library is a very useful source of books and archives on County Louth, fiction, history and general interest subject.
Louth County Archives is also accessible to the public for consultation and artifacts can be found at the County Museum and illmount Museum Drogheda.
Looking at what other researchers and academics have discovered about Dundalk might be a good place to start.
We recommend you look at STÓR- DkIT's Research Repository
Irish Newspaper Archive provides access to a variety of local and national newspapers from all over the island of Ireland dating back as far as the 1700s in some cases. You will find local Dundalk paper, the Dundalk Democrat, dating back to 1849. It also contains one of Ireland's leading newspapers, the Irish Independent, dating back to 1905. This is a great resource for discovering historical and contemporary information, both national and local, on all aspects of Irish society and its people. You will find factual information, opinion pieces, images, ads, obituaries and more.
Not searchable via MultiSearch.
Once you are logged in watch the Search the Archive video for a demonstration of how to use the site. Some of the main features are described below.
Enter your keyword search in the search box at the top of the screen to begin your search. The results screen offers a number of options to broaden or narrow your search, such as:
Click on the arrow to the right hand side of the search box to use the Boolean operators NEAR, AND, OR, NOT to combine or exclude search terms and run your search again.
Refine your search using the filters on the left hand side of the screen; these include publication title, date, front page only and exact phrase.
In the results screen you can also sort by Relevance, Newest, Oldest.
View results by Articles, Pictures or Ads.
Add favourite articles to My Collection by clicking on Add to my collection beneath each result.
Click on any result to open the full article. You will see options to Add to my collection, Print, Email, Save, Share via Facebook and Twitter.
Click Browse and then on the left hand side of the screen click on the down arrow under Select Title to choose a newspaper to browse, you can also select a month and day of the week. Above the results displayed you can choose a particular year to view.
Irish Times Digital Archive provides access to the Irish Times newspaper dating back to 1859 providing a wealth of historical and contemporary information on Ireland and the wider world. The Irish Times is one of Ireland's leading national daily newspapers. It contains national and international news, opinion pieces, analysis, obituaries and more.
Not searchable via MultiSearch.
Under Search by Keyword enter your search term to begin searching. You can limit your search by date using the From and To fields.
Click on Browse by Date and select a date to browse that day's newspaper.
On the results page you can filter results using the Filter Results By option on the right hand side of the screen.
Click on an article to open it. Use the directional arrows to move about the page.
Click on Widescreen, top left hand side of the article, to view the article in widescreen.
There are Print and Download Article options located above the article on the right hand side.
Often when looking for information on the locality you may not be able to find anything published on the topic.
So you may need to do some research yourself.
Find out more by listening to this students experience
Dundalk in Old Photographs by 
From Dun Delca to Dundalk : the topography and archaeology of a medieval frontier town A.D. c.1187-1700 by 
Old Omeath, Carlingford and Greenore by 
Colonisation and Conquest in Medieval Ireland by 
