Apprenticeships: Motor Mechanics

Taking the form of a write-in student workbook Transmission, Chassis and Related Systems, together with Engines, Electronics and Related Systems, fully covers the underpinning knowledge and principles required for N/SVQ level 3 in Motor Vehicles.

Hillier's famous series of Motor Vehicle Technology texts have been revised and updated, book 1 now includes a completely new section on new vehicle technology and alternative fuels. Supported by qualification specific VLE content it provides comprehensive support for students through their Level 2 and 3 VCQs and VRQs.

Hiller's text, now in three up-to-date volumes, provides in-depth coverage of both traditional and modern vehicle systems, incorporating all of the latest technological changes. Each volume covers the latest N/SVQ qualification structure, health and safety issues and both books contain a quantity of new illustrations, photographs and charts.

The primary aim of this book is to provide the necessary scientific principles for NVQ students specialising in motor vehicle engineering at levels 2 and 3. Unlike many other engineering science texts, it emphasises the topics most useful to vehicle engineers, and includes numerous real-life examples, with questions directly related to cars, motor cycles and commercial vehicles.

Addresses engineering aspects relating to motor vehicles, from fundamental principles to advanced innovations.

Building upon the excellent first edition, ' Vehicle and Engine Technology, 2ed' covers all the technology requirements of motor vehicle engineering and has been rigorously updated to include additional material on subjects such as pollution control, automatic transmission, steering systems, braking systems and electrics. An ideal companion for anyone studying motor vehicle repair and servicine, 'Vehicle and Engine Technology, 2ed' provides the in-depth treatment required for technician-level students, but is presented in a way which will be accessible to craft students wanting more than the bare essentials of the subject matter. Several examples of each topic application are included, describing the variations encountered in practice, making the book a useful reference for students of motor vehicle engineering.