To do a general search of our physical and online collection, use multisearch. Click on the tabs above to access resources relevant to your subject.
To borrow you will need your student card or be signed into the library app. If you haven’t received your student card, contact the Admissions Office or alternatively go to the Information Desk opposite Reception in the Whitaker Building.
Standards are detailed, officially approved documents that may be rules, testing methods, definitions, recommended practices, and specifications that promote uniformity. They ensure that products and services meet minimum thresholds and cover areas such as quality, performance, design, safety and environmental impact for engineering design, industrial practices, and terminology, etc.
This presentation from the National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) gives some background information on standards and eurocodes.
When searching for online content, academic papers and journal articles, it’s a good idea to start on the library database page or MultiSearch, as you will usually be prompted to sign in to view full text content. If you're on campus, you may be able to access some e-resources without logging in, but off-campus, you will always have to log in as a DkIT student or staff member.
Another good place to start is Google Scholar, as the html and pdf links on the right hand side of the articles, if available, allow you to view full text. You can also set up Google Scholar to view DkIT content (see below for setup).
A library database is an online searchable collection of information (containing scholarly journals, ebooks, reports, conference papers, newspaper articles, standards, audio files, videos) that the library subscribes to for students.
Patent documents are an important source of information for all researchers. They often give full details of methods and of preparation of compounds. Much of the scientific information in patents is never published elsewhere. It can also be useful when you go to make your project at the end of your course. To get ideas and also make sure what you make isn't already patented.
Google patents are a full database of patents that can be fully searched and mostly accessed free of charge check the video below for a tutorial on how to use it.
