LibGuides: Literature: Welcome

Welcome

This guide suggests reading and resources for studies in the field of literature and literary theory. See the links below for overviews of literary periods, authors, history.

Literary Periods & History Timeline
From the Literature Network
English Timeline
From the British Library

Book resources: literary texts

The Norton anthology of English literature, Vol 1 by Stephen Greenblatt
Shelf Number: 820.8 NOR
ISBN: 9780393912470
Publication Date: 2012
The Norton anthology of English literature, Vol 2 by Stephen Greenblatt
Shelf Number: 820.8 NOR
ISBN: 9780393912487
Publication Date: 2012

Search

Literature and film

Literature Film Quarterly
Articles on individual motion pictures, interviews with directors, screenwriters and literary figures, reviews of current film adaptations of literary works, reviews of books concerning film and responses to articles and reviews.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database.Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic research
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic data on historical writing concerned with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. Limited to three simultaneous users. Not currently searchable using MultiSearch.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical dictionary for Ireland, via Open Access from the Royal Irish Academy. Not currently searchable using MultiSearch.
Documenting Ireland: Parliament, People and Migration This link opens in a new window
Online virtual archive of documents and sources relating to the history of Ireland and its migration experiences from the 18th to the late 20th centuries. Free online resource. Not currently searchable using MultiSearch.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to JSTOR Ireland Collection, Music, Life Sciences, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Arts & Sciences II. Click https://www.youtube.com/user/JSTORSupport for JSTOR tutorials.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Scopus interoperates with Reaxys , a unique chemistry workflow solution, and offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Once logged in click on the Help link for tutorials.

Open Access resources: literary texts

Bartleby
Open Access e-books
Bibliomania
Open Access online literature and study guides
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Open Access texts.
Internet Archive
"A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more".
Luminarium
Useful texts and resources including historical background and biographies. Not recently updated so some links aren't working. For full text use the html link.
Perseus Digital Library
Open Access digital collections of literature including Greek and Roman materials and Renaissance materials
Poets.org
Poems, information and biographies.
Project Gutenberg
Open Access e-books