Tips, information and resources to help you with your studies.
Textbooks are useful introduction to a topic, they will give you an overview of the subject.
Reading Lists are a good starting point, you will find reading lists for each module in Moodle.
Edited books bring together expert knowledge from a range of different people. These books have detailed information on a subject and can add depth to your research into a topic.
Need a book that's not in the Library? You might be able to read most of it online using Google Books. Or you could make an online interlibrary loan request and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
If you find a book you think might be useful for your whole class and you think we should buy it then let us know! Email the details to acquisitions@dkit.ie.
Dewey decimal classification is the system we use to arrange books in the library. Each book is assigned a call number which is a series of numbers followed by letters. The dewey decimal system arranges books by subject. The longer the number, the more specific the subject. Numbers are arranged numerically and letters alphabetically to help you easily find what you're looking for.
Library Layout
First Floor - Dewey numbers: 1 - 500
Second Floor - Dewey numbers: 500 - 1000
| Subject | Number range? | What floor? |
| Agriculture and Food | 500-650 | 2nd |
| Bioscience and Environmental Bioscience | 500-600 | 2nd |
|
Business Economics Law |
650-660 331-338 346-347 |
2nd 1st 1st |
| Computing | 000-099 | 1st |
| Creative Media |
300--399 740-823 |
1st 2nd |
| Engineering | 669-697 | 2nd |
| History | 937-990 | 2nd |
| Marketing | 658-660 | 2nd |
| Music | 780-790 | 2nd |
| Nursing / Midwifery | 610-620 | 2nd |
| Pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical science | 500-599 | 2nd |
| Social Care | 360-380 | 1st |
| Veterinary Nursing | 636-640 | 2nd |
Chemical Engineering in the Pharmaceutical Industry e-book by
A guide to the important chemical engineering concepts for the development of new drugs, revised second edition The revised and updated second edition of Chemical Engineering in the Pharmaceutical Industry offers a guide to the experimental and computational methods related to drug product design and development. The second edition has been greatly expanded and covers a range of topics related to formulation design and process development of drug products. The authors review basic analytics for quantitation of drug product quality attributes, such as potency, purity, content uniformity, and dissolution, that are addressed with consideration of the applied statistics, process analytical technology, and process control. The 2nd Edition is divided into two separate books: 1) Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (API's) and 2) Drug Product Design, Development and Modeling. The contributors explore technology transfer and scale-up of batch processes that are exemplified experimentally and computationally. Written for engineers working in the field, the book examines in-silico process modeling tools that streamline experimental screening approaches. In addition, the authors discuss the emerging field of continuous drug product manufacturing. This revised second edition: Contains 21 new or revised chapters, including chapters on quality by design, computational approaches for drug product modeling, process design with PAT and process control, engineering challenges and solutions Covers chemistry and engineering activities related to dosage form design, and process development, and scale-up Offers analytical methods and applied statistics that highlight drug product quality attributes as design features Presents updated and new example calculations and associated solutions Includes contributions from leading experts in the field Written for pharmaceutical engineers, chemical engineers, undergraduate and graduation students, and professionals in the field of pharmaceutical sciences and manufacturing, Chemical Engineering in the Pharmaceutical Industry, Second Edition contains information designed to be of use from the engineer's perspective and spans information from solid to semi-solid to lyophilized drug products.
As well as searching in MultiSearch for quality information for your assignments you can choose to search specific databases directly. Many of these databases have additional search, save, and alert features you can use. Take a look at these features in any of the databases below.
Electronic books can be read online via your PC, laptop or mobile device.
Advantages ebooks:
We have a large number of ebooks available to you which you can find either by searching the catalogue or by logging in directly to one of our ebook collections.
The Health & Science Library team is available for 1 to 1 consultations on any aspect of your research or any of the new services we are offering this year.
Due to Covid-19 all appointments and consultations will be online until further notice.
