Tips, information and resources to help you with your studies.
Need a book that's not in the Library?
The Health & Science Library team is available for 1 to 1 consultations on any aspect of your research or any of the new services we are offering this year.
Due to Covid-19 all appointments and consultations will be online until further notice.
Dewey decimal classification is the system we use to arrange books in the library. Each book is assigned a call number which is a series of numbers followed by letters. The dewey decimal system arranges books by subject. The longer the number, the more specific the subject. Numbers are arranged numerically and letters alphabetically to help you easily find what you're looking for.
Library Layout
First Floor - Dewey numbers: 1 - 500
Second Floor - Dewey numbers: 500 - 1000
| Subject | Number range? | What floor? |
| Agriculture and Food | 500-650 | 2nd |
| Bioscience and Environmental Bioscience | 500-600 | 2nd |
|
Business Economics Law |
650-660 331-338 346-347 |
2nd 1st 1st |
| Computing | 000-099 | 1st |
| Creative Media |
300--399 740-823 |
1st 2nd |
| Engineering | 669-697 | 2nd |
| History | 937-990 | 2nd |
| Marketing | 658-660 | 2nd |
| Music | 780-790 | 2nd |
| Nursing / Midwifery | 610-620 | 2nd |
| Pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical science | 500-599 | 2nd |
| Social Care | 360-380 | 1st |
| Veterinary Nursing | 636-640 | 2nd |
Ebooks can be read online via your PC, laptop or mobile device. There's lots of advantages to using ebooks:
They're available 24/7
You can access them from anywhere - on and off campus
You can save time by searching within the full-text for your topic
We have a large number of ebooks available to you. You can find them by searching the catalogue or by logging in directly to one of our ebook collections.
Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care for Veterinary Technicians by
Master the veterinary technician's role in caring for critically ill or injured pets! Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care for Veterinary Technicians, 4th Edition provides quick access to dozens of common, life-saving protocols and procedures. Each treatment technique is described in step-by-step detail and illustrated in full color. To prepare you for the veterinary setting, a team approach is emphasized. This edition adds three new chapters and includes practical, easy-to-apply medical math and scenario-based exercises. Written by experienced veterinary technicians Andrea Battaglia and Andrea Steele, this resource prepares you for success on the VTNE, in veterinary practices, and in animal hospital emergency departments. Step-by-step instructions show how to perform specific procedures and techniques, guiding you through key assessment and treatment techniques. Technician Notes highlight specific procedures, with diagrams, photos, and detailed instructions, providing at-a-glance guidance for students and practicing vet techs. Comprehensive coverage of pain management, respiratory emergencies, and urologic emergencies provides cutting-edge treatment options for a wide variety of commonly seen presenting problems. Review and preparation for the VTNE (Veterinary Technician National Examination) is provided by Medical Math exercises and questions based on real-world scenarios. Coverage of equipment and techniques includes the latest advances in basic lab equipment, fluid therapy, and oxygen therapy. Equipment lists are provided at the beginning of most chapters, ensuring that you will have the appropriate tools on hand for each type of emergency situation. Practical exercises prepare you for success on the VTNE. NEW! Three new chapters are included: Supporting the Critically Ill or Injured through Physical Rehabilitation Techniques, Fostering Wellbeing in the ER and ICU, and Managing Pharmaceuticals in the ER. NEW! Chapter pretests assess your knowledge and allow you to identify your strengths and weaknesses. NEW and UPDATED photos and illustrations enhance your understanding by accurately depicting the clinical signs encountered in emergency and critical care.
Mosby's Veterinary PDQ - E-Book : Veterinary Facts at Hand by 
BSAVA Guide to Pain Management in Small Animal Practice by As well as searching in MultiSearch for quality information for your assignments you can choose to search specific databases directly. Many of these databases have additional search, save, and alert features you can use. Take a look at these features in any of the databases below.
