Dundalk Institute of Technology is now a member of the IReL consortium and is participating in the read & publish agreements outlined below. Under the agreements authors and researchers at DkIT may publish their research in eligible journals without paying an article processing charge (APC). These agreements also provide DkIT staff and students read access to collections of subscription journals from these publishers.
Requests to publish OA under these agreements are subject to approval by DkIT.
Please note that funded OA under some agreements are subject to yearly quotas. You will find details of quotas on the IReL agreement pages; please see the links under each publisher to the agreement pages. Quotas cover all member institutions of the agreement and requests are approved on a first come first served basis. Articles submitted after quotas have been reached will not be offered IReL funded OA, please check the IReL agreement pages for updates on quotas.
The read and publish agreement between Springer and the IReL consortium provides read access to approximately 2,300 journals from Springer, Palgrave, Adis subscription journals, as well as Academic Journals on nature.com, with content from 1997 to 2024. It also provides the opportunity to publish OA with fees covered in over 2,080 Hybrid Open Choice journals.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
Annual quotas are applicable under this agreement.
To be eligible an article must:
Author workflow
Article accepted - article is accepted for publication in a Hybrid Open Choice journal. The corresponding author receives an email invitation to complete the publication process for their article.
Article Identification - authors identify themselves by one of three data elements below:
Selecting OA - for articles that have been identified as eligible to be covered by the OA agreement the corresponding author will be presented with confirmation that they can publish open access with their fees covered.
License - The author is asked to agree to an OA creative commons license (CC BY for the majority of Springer Nature journals, on behalf of all co-authors. Other license types may be available on request to Springer.
Publication - Once approved the article is published immediately OA.
For further criteria and information and about how to publish your research under this agreement see here.
The read & publish agreement between Wiley and the IReL consortium provides access to Wiley's subscription journals and the opportunity to publish OA in fully gold and hybrid journals at no cost to the author.
Annual quotas are applicable under this agreement.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
To be eligible an article must:
Author workflow
For fully open access journals see here.
For hybrid open access journals see here.
For further criteria and information about how to publish your research under this agreement see here.
The read & publish agreement between Cambridge University Press and the IReL consortium provides access to Cambridge University Press subscription journals and the opportunity to publish OA in gold and hybrid journals at no cost to the author.
OA quota per year: unlimited.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
To be eligible an article must:
For further criteria and information on how to publish your research under this agreement see here.
The read & publish agreement between Taylor & Francis Group and the IReL consortium combines access to Taylor & Francis subscription journals with the opportunity to publish OA in around 2000 Open Select (hybrid) journals at no cost to the author.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
Annual quotas are applicable under this agreement.
To be eligible an article must:
For further criteria and information and about how to publish your research under this agreement see here.
The read & publish agreement between Oxford University Press and the IReL consortium provides access to Oxford University Press 2023 journal collection and provides the opportunity to publish OA in OUP hybrid journals with fees covered.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
Annual quotas are applicable under this agreement.
To be eligible an article must:
Author workflow
See here for a step-by-step guide to requesting use of Open Access funds under this agreement.
For further criteria and information on how to publish your research under this agreement please see here.
The read & publish agreement between Elsevier and the IReL consortium provides access to the ScienceDirect Freedom Collection of journals and the opportunity to publish OA in Elsevier Journals across a range of disciplines.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
Annual quotas are applicable under this agreement.
To be eligible an article must:
For further criteria and information on how to publish your research under this agreement see here.
The read & publish agreement between Sage Publishing and the IReL consortium provides access to the Sage Premier 2021 journal collection and provides the opportunity to publish OA in SAGE Choice hybrid journals.
Please use your DkIT email address when submitting your article.
OA quota per year: unlimited.
To be eligible an article must:
For further criteria and information on how to publish your research under this agreement please see here.
