Dictionary of Irish Biography includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland from James Ussher to James Joyce, St Patrick to Patrick Pearse, St Brigit to Maud Gonne MacBride, Shane O'Neil to Eamon de Valera, Edward Carson to Bobby Sands. Biographical subjects include: artists, scientists, lawyers, actors, musicians, writers, politicians, criminals, and saints.
Not searchable via MultiSearch.
Quick Search
Search for a person by entering their name in the search box at the top of the page and clicking on Search.
To search full text of the database by keyword, click on Full text, enter the keyword in the search box and click on Search.
Advanced Search
Advanced search allows you to filter your search before running your search. Filter your search by Name, Gender, Birth Date, Death Date, Floruit Date, Place of Birth or Death, Religion, Occupation/Field of Interest and Free text. Select check boxes for your chosen options or enter your search terms and click on Search. To clear filters click on Reset.
Browse
Click on the browse tab to browse by Name or Contributor. Browse by the first initial of the person's last name and click on the letter from the A-Z. Click on the person's name to view the entry for that individual.
Results Page
From the results page view an entry by clicking on the person's name. Click on Biography Service to view features that allows you to print, view the PDF format, bookmark, email, export citation and export RIS of the biography on display. Just hover on the tab and select the link of your desired activity.
Share result with social sites like Del.icio.us and Facebook through the Share this Article tab. Just hover on the tab and select the link of your desired social media site.
To view the page in full screen, click View Full Screen tab.
The Library has print books and e-books. Generally, an e-book contains the same information as a print book.
Books are very useful for background reading and theory. Many also contain snippets of programming code that will be useful for your assignments.
Use the search box below to find books and ebooks in De Chastelain Library's catalogue.
Need a book that's not in the Library? You might be able to read most of it online using Google Books. Or you could make an online interlibrary loan request and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
If you find a book you think might be useful for your whole class and you think we should buy it then let us know! Email the details to acquisitions@dkit.ie.
Electronic books can be read online via your PC, laptop or mobile device.
Advantages:
We have recently added a new demand driven acquisitions (DDA) e-book collection. This collection consists of 1665 titles and is available through MultiSearch. It is a multidisciplinary collection containing titles relating to all academic areas of relevance to DkIT. We do not yet own these titles, instead the purchase of a one-user (1U) licence is triggered by usage. Criteria for activation of purchase include:
The e-books within the DDA collection display in MultiSearch in the same way as e-books we own so access is seamless. Once the purchase of an e-book is triggered the details of the purchased e-book are added to our library catalogue; please note that the e-book will continue to be available via MultiSearch as well.
Sign in using your network username and password.
Check Out the video below on Finding & Using E Books
There are also many sites offering free and out of copyright e books.Some are listed below. These may be Secondary Sources in instances for students of history.
Here is a link to a recent book review.
Tell us if you think we should add it to the Collection by emailing acquisitions@dkit.ie.
Thank You
Sometimes you may need to look beyond local collections and here are links to catalogues of Libraries that may be useful to consult.
These may be especially useful for secondary sources.
Dewey decimal classification is the system we use to arrange books in the library. Each book is assigned a call number which is a series of numbers followed by letters. The dewey decimal system arranges books by subject. The longer the number, the more specific the subject. Numbers are arranged numerically and letters alphabetically to help you easily find what you're looking for.
Library Layout
First Floor - Dewey numbers: 1 - 500
Second Floor - Dewey numbers: 500 - 1000
| Subject | Number range? | What floor? |
| Agriculture and Food | 500-650 | 2nd |
| Bioscience and Environmental Bioscience | 500-600 | 2nd |
|
Business Economics Law |
650-660 331-338 346-347 |
2nd 1st 1st |
| Computing | 000-099 | 1st |
| Creative Media |
300--399 740-823 |
1st 2nd |
| Engineering | 669-697 | 2nd |
| History | 937-990 | 2nd |
| Marketing | 658-660 | 2nd |
| Music | 780-790 | 2nd |
| Nursing / Midwifery | 610-620 | 2nd |
| Pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical science | 500-599 | 2nd |
| Social Care | 360-380 | 1st |
| Veterinary Nursing | 636-640 | 2nd |
