Skip to main content

Music: Journal articles & databases

Why use a journal article?

There are many advantages to using journal articles for your research. Information found in journals is:

  • authoritative and often peer-reviewed
  • current
  • digestible (with an easily understandable structure: Abstract, introduction, methodology, discussion and conclusion)
  • provides information on a specific topic
  • answers a specific question (presents findings).

At the same time, journal articles are not suitable for all occasions. Journals articles generally do not provide:

  • an introduction to a subject area (see encyclopaedias)
  • a broad overview of a particular topic.

What does peer-review mean?

In academic publishing, the goal of peer review is to assess the qualityof articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal. Before an article is deemed appropriate to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, it must undergo the following process:

  •  The author of the article must submit it to the journal editor who forwards the article to experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
  •  These impartial reviewers are charged with carefully evaluating the quality of the submitted manuscript.
  •  The peer reviewers check the manuscript for accuracy and assess the validity of the research methodology and procedures.
  •  If appropriate, they suggest revisions. If they find the article lacking in scholarly validity and rigor, they reject it.

·     Because a peer-reviewed journal will not publish articles that fail to meet the standards established for a given discipline, peer-reviewed articles that are accepted for publication exemplify the best research practices in a field.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Customising Google Scholar for DkIT

How to find journal articles

Individual journal articles are not listed in the library catalogue.


Use Multisearch to find articles on your research topic  - you can search the library catalogue,  journal or newspaper articles, reports in one simple search.

To see if we subscribe to a particular journal title check our Publication Search

 

Acessing Material From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loans

If you cannot get books or articles in the library we may be able to source it for you in another library

Interlibrary Loan

 

Databases for Music

Academic Search Complete (We are changing Library Management Systems. Please use your network username and password to log in). 
Multi-disciplinary full-text database. Click here for a tutorial.
Walk-in access available.

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (We are changing Library Management Systems. Please use your network username and password to log in). 
Access to IEEE Journals, IEEE Conferences, IET Journals, IET Conferences, IEEE Active, Withdrawn & Archived Standards 20+ VDE Conferences and INSPEC Citation & Abstract Records.
Walk-in access available.

JSTOR
Click here for JSTOR tutorials.

Naxos (Click the 'login' button and enter your network username and password). 
Online musical library. Requires Adobe Flash Player. Limited to 3 simultaneous users

Online musical library. Requires Adobe Flash Player. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Oxford Music Online  (We are changing Library Management Systems. Please use your network username and password to log in). 
An integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

 

 

 

 

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.