A site and blog devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference, ranging from discographies and catalogs of composer works to reference information about music exhibits and/or collections. It currently includes over 7,000 bibliographic references, several of which offer detailed annotations to help guide the user. This online resource also offers basic reference guides to facilitate arts-related research projects. The coverage of the bibliography was initially based on the music and dance reference collection at Brigham Young University, but many additional citations gathered from WorldCat and earlier bibliographies are entered on a regular basis.
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections, special Web presentations on topics and collections, articles and biographical essays, databases for performing arts resources, information on concerts at the Library, and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, websites, databases and exhibits.
The following guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites. A few highlights of this extremely varied online resource are the "Alan Lomax Archive", the "Civil War Sheet Music Collection", and the "Digital Bach Project."
For over 100 years, Musical America Worldwide has been the voice of the performing arts industry. Musical America provides the digital and print touchpoints for performing arts professionals to reach out to each other to further their art and their businesses. This website also includes original copies of music and arts related articles in newspapers, magazines, and directories from 1905 on, and thousands of priceless photographs (part of a work-in-progress archive of performer photographs dating from the early nineteenth century), among other useful resources
ClassicalNet: The Internet's Premier Classical Music Source
"ClassicalNet" is a website devoted to the study and appreciation of Western classical music. It offers extensive book reviews (e.g.: of music theory and music history textbooks and composer biographies), CD/DVD performance reviews, and live concert reviews, etc. Additionally, "ClassicalNet" offers several short articles on highly-varied topics, including interviews (e.g.: an interview with renowned American composer Ned Rorem as well as an interview with a Colorado-based opera singer, translator, and provider of opera supertitles). This website also offers a basic overview of period histories (Renaissance, Baroque, etc.) and a fairly comprehensive list of well-known composers and their works.
NAFME is the primary online resource and national organization for American music teachers, until recently known as MENC (Music Educators National Conference). It offers practical guides to lesson planning, classroom setup, music selection (both choral and instrumental), membership opportunities for current teachers and college music ed. majors, lists of associated programs (e.g.: the Tri-M Music Honor Society and the U.S. Army All-American Marching Band), as well as information about recent and upcoming conferences, etc.
An online collection of free scores of both classical vocal and instrumental music. This page allows you to browse by composer, instrument, form and/or time period.
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to Eastman's Sibley Music Library collection.
A collection of digitized autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers' proofs, and first editions of great interest to performers and scholars. There is also a downloadable comprehensive list (in .pdf format) offering detailed information about each manuscript in the collection. Among the collection's highlights are the late engraver's proof of Beethoven's 9th Symphony and the final scene of Mozart's "Le Nozze di Figaro."
The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University has about forty collections of string quartets in parts dating from approximately 1770-1840, the heyday of the genre. Most, though not all, scores are complete and represent composers whose works are rarely found in modern editions. Digitization of these parts makes newly available for performance, study and recording a large and varied repertoire of works for this instrumental ensemble.
ClassicalNet: The Internet's Premier Classical Music Source
"ClassicalNet" is a website devoted to the study and appreciation of Western classical music. It offers extensive book reviews (e.g.: of music theory and music history textbooks and composer biographies), CD/DVD performance reviews, and live concert reviews, etc. Additionally, "ClassicalNet" offers several short articles on highly-varied topics, including interviews (e.g.: an interview with renowned American composer Ned Rorem as well as an interview with a Colorado-based opera singer, translator, and provider of opera supertitles). This website also offers a basic overview of period histories (Renaissance, Baroque, etc.) and a fairly comprehensive list of well-known composers and their works
AAWM, first published in 2011, is an international, professional journal approaching ethnomusicological concerns from a theoretical and/or analytical standpoint.
"RootsWorld" is an online music magazine started in 1993, spanning a wide range of styles and genres (international folk, pop, jazz, and classical musics). The side bar to the left of the webpage offers additional information including a selected CD/recording highlighted as the "music of the month" in order to expand readers' awareness of the diversity and scope of "world music."
According to the website, "the Society of Indian Record Collectors intends to bring together all persons and institutions interested in preservation, promotion and research in all aspects of Indian musical culture." This journal featuring articles about recordings of Indian music was published online from 1991-2012.
An online music journal (2010-2011) covering Jewish liturgical music and sponsored by The American Conference of Cantors (ACC). According to the website, this professional organization of over 500 ordained or certified cantors was originally founded in 1953.
The Society for Ethnomusicology was founded to promote the research, study, and performance of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts.
The Society for Seventeenth-Century Music is dedicated to the study and performance of seventeenth-century music and related arts.
The purpose of the Society for Eighteenth-Century Music is to promote the study and performance of music of the eighteenth century.
The International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM) is an international organization established to promote inquiry, scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music.
In addition to its extensive collection of downloadable sheet music, 8notes includes a series of introductory music theory lessons and ear training drills. Its offerings range from the basics (note and rest durations, time and key signatures, etc.) to an overview of the Neapolitan chord and an "Introduction to Modes."
An online collection of basic music theory lessons, ranging from an introduction to the "staff, clefs, and ledger lines" to the use of the Neapolitan chord. This website also includes customizable practice exercises, and additional tools (i.e.: an "Interval Calculator" to practice interval recognition drills).
Teoria.com is a website dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. It was developed in 1997 by José Rodríguez Alvira as a complement for his courses at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico. It includes free online lessons in basic music theory, including instruction in basic chord progressions as well as the recognition and use of Augmented Sixth and Neapolitan chords. In addition to the theory tutorials, this resource offers free online drills in ear training (rhythmic, melodic, and harmonic dictations).
The Society for Music Theory (SMT) promotes music theory as a scholarly and pedagogical discipline
Music Theory Online, a Journal of Criticism, is the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory. Published several times each year, each volume of MTO includes features such as articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations
ECHO: A Music-Centered Journal is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate students in the Department of Musicology at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). It was published biannually from when it was established in 1999 to 2004 and more sporadically since that time. One of the highlights of the journal is its accessibility to readers with limited to no formal music training, made possible by the use of video and audio files as supplements or replacements for music examples in standard notation.
Critical Musicology, hosted by the School of Music at the University of Leeds, is a fully refereed critical musicology journal appearing exclusively on the Internet from 1997 to 1998. Its purpose is to provide a library of texts which address the wide number of issues that have become part of the field of critical musicology. Given the diverse number of practices within critical musicology, Critical Musicology is designed to encompass a plurality of topics, discourses, and methodologies. Rather than dogmatically adopting a single party line, its purpose here is one of pragmatic, inclusive multiplicity.
A monthly online journal sponsored by a California-based music organization pertaining to 21st-century music criticism and analysis.
The Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music (JSCM) is published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century. These include historical and archival studies, performance practice, music theory, aesthetics, dance and theater. JSCM also publishes critical reviews and summary listings of recently published books, scores, recordings, and electronic media. (Currently available issues/volumes: 1999-2010).
A daily updated music magazine pertaining to contemporary American and British popular music criticism, film, TV, and politics. The magazine's music-related contents include interviews and special features about prominent musicians, the latest news about concerts, etc., concert and recording reviews, videos, photo galleries, lists and polls (i.e.: "100 Best Singles of 1984: Pop's Greatest Year"), among other things.
Gamut is the peer-reviewed online journal of the Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic. The journal features articles covering Shenkerian analysis and Transformational Theory, as well as more recent, innovative theoretical and analytical concepts and procedures. According to the website, this journal also addresses musical practices "from non-Western regions (e.g., India, the Middle-East, or South America) or musical genres from popular culture (e.g., rock, country, or hiphop)."
Music Theory Online, a Journal of Criticism, is the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory. Published several times each year, each volume of MTO includes features such as articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.
NewMusicBox, a multimedia publication from New Music USA, is dedicated to the music of American composers and improvisers and their champions. According to the website, "NewMusicBox offers: in-depth profiles, articles, and discussions; up-to-the-minute industry news and commentary; a direct portal to our internet radio station, Counterstream; and access to an online library of more than 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers."
Film Music Magazine, sponsored by the Film and Television Music Knowledgebase, features interviews with composers and practical guides to the field (e.g.: several articles about "marketing yourself"), in addition to offering a useful, up-to-date guide of recent job listings.
