LibGuides: Creative Media: Websites

How do I evaluate a website?

Websites are good for keeping up to date, especially in the fast moving world of computing.

But... ! Anyone can publish on the web, so it's important to evaluate the information you find by looking at:

Who? Who is the author? Is he/she a qualified expert with academic credentials and other publication in the subject?
Why? Why was it written? Is it fact based, opinion based? Is it intended to educate, inform, entertain, sell something?
Where? Where did the information come from? Is it a popular press publication, an academic publication, or something else?
When? When was it written? Has it been updated? Do newer editions or revisions exist?

Check our Evaluating Your Sources Guide for more tips.

Useful websites

The Association of Irish Musical Societies
The Association of Irish Musical Societies (AIMS) provides a voice to musical theatre in Ireland.
Broadcasting Authority of Ireland
The BAI is the regulator of broadcasting in Ireland.
Classic Irish Plays
ClassicIrishPlays.com is an Irish Research Council-funded online database which gives theatre practitioners, researchers, teachers, students, and, indeed, all fans of great literature access to scripts by the great Irish playwrights whose work has entered – or partially entered – the public domain.
Creative Commons
Information on using and remixing content with Creative Commons licenses.
CSO - Central Statistics Office
The Central Statistics Office (CSO) is Ireland's national statistical office and it's purpose is to impartially collect, analyse and make available statistics about Ireland’s people, society and economy.
Data.gov.ie
The Open Data listed in data.gov.ie is published by Government Departments and Public Bodies. Many datasets are individually published and updated by public organisations.
Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland
Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland is the development agency for the Irish film, television and animation industry.
IMDb
IMDb searchable database includes millions of movies, TV and entertainment programs and cast and crew members.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
Irish Equity
Irish Equity represents Professionals in the live performance and theatre sector in the Republic of Ireland.
The Irish Film and Television Academy
The Irish Film and Television Academy (IFTA) is an all-Ireland organisation whose mission is to encourage excellence in Irish Film and Television by providing a platform for inspiration, creative development and collaboration across the entire industry.
The Irish Film and Television Network
Irish Film Classification Office
IFCO, a statutory body, is responsible for examining and certifying all cinema films and videos/DVDs distributed in Ireland.
Irish Film Institute
The Irish Film Institute is Ireland’s national cultural institution for film.
IrishTheatre.ie
The go to resource for theatre in Ireland, North and South.
Irish Theatre Institute
Irish Theatre Institute (ITI), is a resource organisation that nurtures, promotes and drives the ambition of Irish theatre makers and Irish theatre.
MRQE - the Movie Review Query Engine
Searches all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with a large range of movies.
National Library of Ireland Digital Photographs
Northern Ireland Screen
Northern Ireland Screen is the national screen agency for Northern Ireland.
OECD Data
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation. Their website contains statistical data on countries from around the world.
Playography Ireland
A comprehensive database of new Irish plays produced professionally since 1904.
RTE Archives
Combining hundreds of thousands of hours of moving image and sound recordings together with significant collections of photographs, manuscripts and administrative documents, RTÉ Archives contain a unique record of Irish life.
TED Talks
'Riveting talks by remarkable people'
Theatre Forum
Building a stronger performing arts community in Ireland.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly papers instead of general websites.

You can set up Google scholar so that it will let you know when an item is available in De Chastelain Library. In Google Scholar:

Click on settings, the Library Links
Search for Dundalk Institute of Technology (not DkIT)
Tick 'Institute of Technology Dundalk' and save

Creative Media: Websites

How do I evaluate a website?

Useful websites

Google Scholar

Search Library via Google Scholar