Skip to main content

Research Support: Discovery

Outlines services for postrgaduate researchers

Want sources from another library?

Need a book that's not in the Library? You might be able to read most of it online using Google Books. Or you could make an online interlibrary loan request and we'll borrow it from another library for you.

If you find a book you think might be useful for other researchers and you think we should buy it then let us know! Email the details to acquisitions@dkit.ie.

If you want to visit another academic library please contact your Library Subject Liaison to arrange a Letter of Introduction.

Link to open access databases

How to keep up with new developments

There various ways to keep up with brand new research in your field, they include using social media to follow relevant researchers, rss feeds for journals and blogs. 

Social media: 

Social media, when used well can be a good way to keep up with the latest developments in your field. You can follow researchers in your field on their social media accounts.  Using RSS feeds to keep up to datewith relevant blogs can also be useful. 

See the links below for more  information. 

RSS feeds, email lists:

You can use various tools in order to keep with research such as rss fields and e-mails in order to keep up with research that deal with your particular topic. This can include keeping up with journals using apps such as journals tocs which sets you up on an email list . You can also create RSS feeds of search results by following this guide for setting one up in Scopus.

You can also set up an RSS feed in Multisearch. 

Click here to find out about free RSS readers. 

How to find journal articles?

The easiest way to find a journal article is by using MultiSearch. This searches most of the Library's databases at the same time.  Log in using your name and student number to read an article.

Another option is to search a individual database. Click here to see our list of databases.

To search for a particular journal go to this link here. 

Why search individual databases?

Should you only use  MultiSearch ? It is not recommended and instead you should also use individual databases. 

MultiSearch is great for finding out the range of sources we have available on any given topic but once you start to research a topic in more depth you will want more flexibility to save your results and keep up to date with new publications.

Most databases allow you to save searches and set up saved search alerts that send you any new items that matches your search. This is one of the advantages of using the database directly rather than always using MultiSearch.

Procedures for subscribing to email or RSS alerts vary for different databases. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search
Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.