Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DkIT Logo

Using Your Library: Accessing E-Resources

Accessing E-Resources

Access

This guide is about how to gain access to full text journal articles and other online content. 

If you are not already signed in through library webpages like MultiSearch or the databases, look out for the Institutional Login link. 

Accessing Library e-resources

When searching for online content, academic papers and journal articles, it’s a good idea to start on the library database page or MultiSearch, as you will automatically be prompted to sign in to view full text content.

Another good place to start is Google Scholar, as the html and pdf links on the right hand side of the articles, if available, allow you to view full text. You can also set up Google Scholar to view DkIT content (see below for setup).

Access Library resources via Google Scholar

On Google Scholar, go to Settings and select Library Links.

Enter Dundalk and select Find It @ DkIT Library, and save.

Run a search and click on the DkIT links for access.

Problems logging into databases or viewing content?

Do not add @dkit.ie or @student.dkit.ie to your username when signing in.

Make sure you are using a valid password.

Clear cookies/history/cache on browsers regularly (eg on Chrome, go to More tools or Settings, and clear browsing data, or hit Ctrl-Shift-Delete. Restart the browser. This will log you out of websites).

Switch browsers – if an article won’t open using Chrome, try Firefox.

Try restarting your device.

If you are still having issues, contact us at library@dkit.ie.

Access full text articles on publisher sites

On publisher platforms, if you don’t have full text access, look out for the option to sign in via your institution, and enter ‘Dundalk’ *. (See below for an example of accessing an article on IEEE when not already signed in).

If DkIT has a subscription with the publisher, you should be able to choose DkIT from a dropdown list.

Sign in on the DkIT login page.

Look out for green subscription icons, or click on a PDF link.

*If you are asked to choose a Federation, look for Edugate or Ireland on the dropdown list. 

If you still don’t have access, don’t pay for content. Check if the library has a subscription by entering the journal title in the publications tab in MultiSearch. It will show a full text link and what years we can access, if it’s available.

Ask a member of library staff for help if you’re not sure – use the Ask a Librarian chat on MultiSearch or email library@dkit.ie.

We can also request the article from another library. Make an Interlibrary loan request here.